Cook to Cal U. ..... Baseball all-stars announced

Written by Mike White on .

Drew Cook, who helped the Beaver Falls basketball team to WPIAL and PIAA Class AA titles, will play at the NCAA Division II level in college.

Cook has decided to play at California Univeristy of Pa. It's a nice get for Cal Pa. Cook is a 6-foot-2 guard who did a little of everything for Beaver Falls. He has an excellent mid-range game and is good at slashes to the basket. He averaged 15.3 points a game this season, was a Post-Gazette West Fabulous 5 selection and the Beaver County Times Player of the Year. He also is a good defender.

Cook started some for Beaver Falls as a freshman. During coach Doug Biega's 14 years as Beaver Falls' coach, the only others to start as freshmen were Lance Jeter, Todd Thomas and Elijah Cottrill. Cook scored more than 1,000 career points.

Baseball all-stars announced

The WPIAL Baseball Coaches Association 10th annual all-star games will be Sunday, June 9 at the Burkett Complex in Robinson.  The first game at 1 matches the WPIAL AAAA All-Stars against AAA. It is followed by Class AA vs. Class A at 4.

Eighty players will participate in the games. Franklin Regional's Dan McGrath and Nick Vento, Neshannock's Alex Welker and Quigley's Zach Chinchilla declined invitations due to prior commitments. Players will be honored at an awards banquet Jiune 10 at the Airport Marriott. The banquet is open to the public and for banquet tickets, call 412-429-0546.

Here are the players selected for the game.

Class AAAA All-Stars
Cameron Balego                Central Catholic
Anthony Colondrea             Woodland Hills
Logan Corrigan                  Bethel Park
P J DeMeo                       Central Catholic
Sebastian DeNardo            Central Catholic
Jimmy Divosevic                 North Allegheny
Jonathan Dorogy                 Seneca Valley
Tyler Dubovich                  Albert Gallatin
Kevin Forrester                 Canon McMillan
Dakota Forsyth                  Bethel Park
Frank Fortunato                 Canon McMillan
Brad Gresock                    Seneca Valley
Chris Hawkins                   Brashear
Mark Hollis                     North Hills
Zac Manuppelli                  Plum
Zach Martinelli                 Hempfield
James Meeker                    North Allegheny
Nathan Mori                     Hempfield
Shea Sullivan                   Pine-Richland
Chris Watschak                  Peters Township

Class AAA All-Stars
Mark Adams                      Elizabeth-Forward
Dave Bednar                     Mars
Brad Bisko                      Yough
Colton Booher                   Thomas Jefferson
Jake Bywalski                   South Park
Jamie Deane                     Ambridge
Ben Erdahl                      Mars
Adam Ferita                     Belle Vernon
Dom Francia                     Belle Vernon
Jake Horew                      Chartiers Valley
Dan Hoss                        Montour
Tim Hughes                      Hopewell
Logan Johnston                  Hopewell
Joey Paul                       Mt Pleasant
Nick Riotti                     Trinity
Jared Skolnicki                 Keystone Oaks
Luke Spisak                     Yough
Joey Vita                       Hampton
Chase Voltz                     Knoch
Nick Yobbi                      South Park

Class AA All-Stars
Jordan Allen                    Washington
Sam Beckey                      Freedom
Kevin Begley                    Deer Lakes
Sean Bialecki                   Greensburg CC
Garrett Brooks                  Greensburg CC
Tyler Falk                      Riverside
Adam Fredley                    Deer Lakes
Ben Herstine                    Beaver
Dylan Jones                     Riverside
Dustin Koedel                   Freeport
Paul McCullough                 Shady Side Acad
Josh Miller                     Beth-Center
Robbie Miller                   Freeport
Jake Pilewicz                   Quaker Valley
Dylan Pounds                    Chartiers-Houston
Justin Retzer                   Ford City
Brandon Ritchie                 Laurel
Austin Ross                     Beaver
Tyler Spohn                     Brownsville
Kyle Witzberger                 Fort Cherry

Class A All-Stars
John Arcuri                     St. Joseph's
Jordan Dicks                    Jefferson-Morgan
Nico DiPaolo                    Bishop Canevin
Robert DiMaggio                 Western Beaver
Jimmy Dlugos                    Bishop Canevin
Preston Falascino               OLSH
Jaime Fell                      Frazier
Brian Fisher                    California
Evan Haines                     Sewickley Academy
Chad Hazaga                     Serra Catholic
Blake Herron                    Frazier
Wayne Hydak                     Serra Catholic
Dylan Kugler                    Serra Catholic
Jason Lanoy                     OLSH
Anthony Malky                   Riverview
Tim Mulvey                      OLSH
Josh Mundell                    Carmichaels
Ryan Peluso                     North Catholic
Ben Richko                      Rochester
Tommy Shoaf                     Carmichaels

Join the conversation:

To report inappropriate comments, abuse and/or repeat offenders, please send an email to and include a link to the article and a copy of the comment. Your report will be reviewed in a timely manner. Thank you.