Clairton, Aliquippa well-represented on all-state teams

Written by Mike White on .

The all-state football teams for Class AA and A were released today, and Clairton and Aliquippa players show up all over the teams.

Clairton, winners of 63 consecutive games, had five players on the Class A team. That is the most of any school. Tyler Boyd, Clairton's do-it-all senior running back-receiver-defensive back and sometimes quarterback, was the Class A player of the year for the second consecutive season.

Boyd (pictured) finished his career as the fifth-leading rusher in WPIAL history and set a WPIAL record with 117 career touchdowns. He helped Clairton win its fifth consecutive WPIAL title and its fourth consecutive PIAA championship.

Besides Boyd, the other four Clairton players to make all-state were receiver Terrish Webb, offensive lineman Devonte Harvey, defensive lineman Robert Boatright and defensive back Titus Howard. Clairton finished the season with a 63-game winning streak. This season, the Bears won their fifth consecutive WPIAL title and fourth consecutive PIAA title.

Other WPIAL players that made the Class A team were Monessen quarterback Chavas Rawlins, Sto-Rox quarterback Lenny Williams and Chartiers-Houston linebacker Garrett Vulcano.
In Class AA, WPIAL champion Aliquippa had three all-state selections – offensive lineman Jaleel Fields, running back Terry Swanson and defensive back Dravon Henry. Swanson both rushed for more than 1,000 yards this season.
Overall, the WPIAL had 10 players on the Class AA team. The others were South Fayette quarterback Brett Brumbaugh, Washington running back Shai McKenzie, South Fayette receiver Zach Challingsworth, Seton-LaSalle tight end Scott Orndoff, Burrell linebacker Cole Bush, Washington linebacker Jaylin Kelly and Beaver Falls defensive back Elijah Cottrill. McKenzie rushed for more than 2,000 yards and Brumbaugh led the WPIAL in passing yardage.

See the complete all-state teams in tomorrow's Post-Gazette.

Join the conversation:

To report inappropriate comments, abuse and/or repeat offenders, please send an email to and include a link to the article and a copy of the comment. Your report will be reviewed in a timely manner. Thank you.