Hobey Baker finalists named

Written by Jenn Menendez on .

The 10 finalists for the prestigious Hobey Baker award were announced today. That's college hockey's equivalent of the Heisman Trophy for those of you unfamiliar with the award.

The top-3 finalists will be named April 3 and the winner will be crowned in Pittsburgh at the Frozen Four on April 12, the day between the semi-finals and national championship game.

The finalists, listed alphabetically:HobeyBakerAward2

  • Greg Carey, St. Lawrence
  • Carsen Chubak, Niagara
  • Austin Czarnik, Miami (OH)
  • Kyle Flanagan, St. Lawrence
  • Johnny Gaudreau, Boston College
  • Eric Hartzell, Quinnipiac
  • Corban Knight, North Dakota
  • Danny Kristo, North Dakota
  • Drew LeBlanc, St. Cloud State
  • Ryan Walters, Nebraska-Omaha

Finalists were selected by voting from the 59 Division I college hockey head coaches coupled with online fan balloting.




Join the conversation:

To report inappropriate comments, abuse and/or repeat offenders, please send an email to and include a link to the article and a copy of the comment. Your report will be reviewed in a timely manner. Thank you.