Allegheny Democrats helped defeat transportation bill

Written by Jon Schmitz on .

Allegheny County Democrats, including House Minority Leader Frank Dermody, played a key role in Monday night's defeat of a transportation funding bill.

The delegation split 11-7 against the bill. Voting no were Paul Costa, Dom Costa, Dan Deasy, Tony DeLuca, Dermody, Nick Kotik, Rob Matzie, Dan Miller, Adam Ravenstahl, Harry Readshaw and Jesse White.

Yes votes came from Dan Frankel, Ed Gainey, Marc Gergely, Bill Kortz, Joseph Markosek, Erin Molchany and Jake Wheatley.

It's fairly obvious that the provision in the bill raising the threshold for prevailing wages -- opposed by some union leaders -- caused some Democrats to vote no. Evidently the influence of unions outweighed the interests of the diverse groups concerned about crumbling roads and bridges and transit service cuts.

Allegheny Republicans split 3-2 in favor of the bill, with yes votes by Harold English, John Maher and Mark Mustio. Voting no were Rick Saccone and GOP leader Mike Turzai.

The entire 103-98 roll call can be viewed here.

It's unclear whether there will be an attempt to revive the bill before the House concludes business.

This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

@pgtraffic on Twitter

Join the conversation:

To report inappropriate comments, abuse and/or repeat offenders, please send an email to and include a link to the article and a copy of the comment. Your report will be reviewed in a timely manner. Thank you.