Malkin wins Hart, Lindsay awards - 06-20-12

Written by Seth Rorabaugh on .

In a display common to Penguins fans, Evgeni Malkin cleaned up at the NHL's awards show.

Malkin claimed the Hart Trophy as the NHL's MVP and the Ted Lindsay Award, the NHLPA's MVP. He becomes the fourth Penguins player to win each respective award joining Sidney Crosby, Jaromir Jagr and Mario Lemieux.

While accepting the Hart Trophy, Malkin thanked former Penguins defenseman Sergei Gonchar:

{youtube width="465" height="262"}dXEbzh3p6IY{/youtube}

Voting for the Hart Trophy, done by the Professional Hockey Writers Association, was pretty lopsided in favor for Malkin:

(Note: Players are listed with their total points in voting and the number of first, second, third, fourth and fifth place votes they received).

1. Evgeni Malkin, Penguins 1,473 (144-4-1-0-0)
2. Steven Stamkos, Lightning 598 (1-54-24-24-18)
3. Henrik Lundqvist, Rangers 556 (3-35-36-28-17)
4. Claude Giroux, Flyers 458 (0-25-34-28-29)
5. Jonathan Quick, Kings. 357 (1-22-23-19-21)
6. Jason Spezza, OTT 134 (0-2-14-11-17)
7. Pekka Rinne, NSH 64 (0-4-2-6-8)
8. Erik Karlsson, OTT 52 (0-0-4-7-11)
9. Henrik Sedin, VAN 40 (0-2-2-5-1)
10. Ilya Kovalchuk, N.J. 38 (0-1-2-5-6)
11. Mike Smith, PHX 16 (0-0-0-4-4)
12. Zdeno Chara, BOS 15 (0-0-1-3-1)
13. Shea Weber, NSH 12 (0-0-1-2-1)
14. Pavel Datsyuk, DET 11 (0-0-1-1-3)
15. Brian Elliott, STL 10 (0-0-1-1-2)
16. Ray Whitney, PHX 8 (0-0-1-1-0)
17. Marian Gaborik, NYR 8 (0-0-1-0-3)
18. Patrice Bergeron, BOS 7 (0-0-0-2-1)
19. David Backes, STL 6 (0-0-1-0-1)
20. Brian Campbell, FLA 3 (0-0-0-1-0)
      Radim Vrbata, PHX 3 (0-0-0-1-0)
22. Jamie Benn, DAL 2 (0-0-0-0-2)
      James Neal, PIT 2 (0-0-0-0-2)
24. Marian Hossa, CHI 1 (0-0-0-0-1)

Neal and Malkin were also named first-team all-stars. It was the first time the Penguins had two players selected to the team since Jagr and Lemieux in 1996. Malkin and Neal were joined by Karlsson, Kovalchuk, Lundqvist and Weber.

Voted to the second team were Rangers forward Marian Gaborik, Blues defenseman Alex Pietrangelo, Chara, Quick, Stamkos and Whitney

Lundqvist (right) won the Vezina Trophy as the league's top goaltender. The Penguins' Marc-Andre Fleury received one third place vote.

Karlsson received the James Norris Memorial Trophy as the league's best defenseman. The Penguins' Kris Letang finished in ninth place with 40 points.

Bruins center Patrice Bergeron won the Frank J. Selke Trophy as the NHL's top defensive forward. Penguins forward receiving votes were Jordan Staal who was eighth in voting with 67 votes and Pascal Dupuis who was 13th with 28 points. Flyers forward and former Penguin Maxime Talbot was 20th with 13 points.

The Blues' Ken Hitchcock claimed the Jack Adams Award as the league's top coach. The previous winner, the Penguins' Dan Bylsma was sixth in voting with 25 points. 

St. Louis' Doug Armstrong won the General Manager of the Year crown. The Penguins' Ray Shero finished 11th with one third-place vote.

Avalanche forward Gabriel Landeskog (right) claimed the Calder Memorial Trophy as the league's top rookie.

Campbell became the third defenseman in NHL history to win the Lady Byng Memorial Trophy, awarded for gentlemanly play.

Canadiens forward Max Pacioretty, one year removed from a serious neck injury, received the Bill Masterton Trophy for perserverance, sportsmanship and dedication to hockey.

Landeskog was named to the all-rookie team along with Hurricanes defenseman Justin Faulk, Maple Leafs defenseman Jake Gardiner, Devils forward Adam Henrique and Oilers forward Ryan-Nugent Hopkins.

(Photo: Julie Jacobson/Associated Press; Lundqvist-Harry How/Getty Images; Landeskog-Bruce Bennett/Getty Images)

Join the conversation:

To report inappropriate comments, abuse and/or repeat offenders, please send an email to and include a link to the article and a copy of the comment. Your report will be reviewed in a timely manner. Thank you.