Good company - 4-23-09

Written by Seth Rorabaugh on .

For a player who failed to score a single playoff goal last season, Tyler Kennedy (above) has sure found a way to make a huge impact on this posteason. The Penguins have three wins and Kennedy has scored the deciding goal in two of them.

From a historical standpoint, Kennedy has joined a fairly exclusive group of Penguins when it comes to postseason scoring. There have been 21 instances of Penguins players scoring two or more game-winners in a single postseason and unlike Kennedy, not too many of them were toiling on the third line:

Player, Year Game-Winning
Mario Lemieux, 1992 5
Ron Francis, 1991 4
Jaromir Jagr, 1992 4
Jaromir Jagr, 2000 4
Kevin Stevens, 1991 4
Michel Briere, 1970 3
Rob Brown, 1989 3
Mario Lemieux, 2001 3
Evgeni Malkin, 2008 3
Kevin Stevens, 1992 3
Ron Francis, 1992 2
Marian Hossa, 2008 2
Rick Kehoe, 1982 2
Tyler Kennedy, 2009 2
Mario Lemieux, 1996 2
Ryan Malone, 2008 2
Petr Nedved, 1996 2
Mark Recchi, 1991 2
Luc Robitaille, 1995 2
Martin Straka, 2001 2
Bryan Trottier, 1991 2

(Photo: Olivier Morin/AFP/Getty Images)

Join the conversation:

To report inappropriate comments, abuse and/or repeat offenders, please send an email to and include a link to the article and a copy of the comment. Your report will be reviewed in a timely manner. Thank you.