Crosby, Ovechkin, Henrik Sedin named finalists for Hart Trophy - 04-29-10

Written by Seth Rorabaugh on .

Forward Sidney Crosby (right) of the Penguins, Alex Ovechkin of the Capitals and Henrik Sedin of the Canucks were named finalists for the Hart Trophy, the NHL's MVP award.

Crosby, who won the award in 2007, led the NHL in goals with 51 this season. In 81 games, he had 109 points (51 goals, 58 assists).

Ovechkin, winner of the award in 2008 and 2009, was third in the league in points this season with 109 (50 goals, 59 assists) in 72 games.

Sedin, a first time nominee, led the NHL in points this season with 112 (29 goals, 83 assists) in 82 games.

EN Says: We're shocked a goaltender was among the finalists. In fact, if we had  vote, we would've given it to Coyotes goaltender Ilya Bryzgalov. No player was more valuable to his team's success than Bryzgalov. He had them in contention for the top seed in the Western Conference late in the season. Without him, they probably miss the playoffs. We can't see the same happening to the Penguins, Capitals or Canucks if you took away Crosby, Ovechkin or Sedin. All three teams would still be playoff contenders.

As far as who we think will win the award, we'll preview that in June near the award show.

(Photo: Jamie Sabau/Getty Images)

Join the conversation:

To report inappropriate comments, abuse and/or repeat offenders, please send an email to and include a link to the article and a copy of the comment. Your report will be reviewed in a timely manner. Thank you.