New WPIAL football alignment

Written by Mike White on .

By Mike White | Tuesday, Jan. 19, 2010, 5:50 p.m.

The WPIAL today released its football conference alignment for the next two years.

In one of the surprising moves, Franklin Regional was moved out of the Greater Allegheny Conference in Class AAA and placed in the Keystone. The Keystone Conference is perenially weak, and this should help the Keystone's strength. Franklin Regional has had some fairly strong teams in recent years, winning WPIAL and state titles in 2005.

A few new teams also are in the WPIAL for next year. The top four teams in each conference will continue to make the playoffs.

Here are the conference alignments for the 2010 and 2011 seasons.


Northern Seven – Butler, Erie McDowell, North Allegheny, North Hills, Pine-Richland, Seneca Valley, Shaler.

Foothills – Connellsville, Gateway, Hempfield, Latrobe, McKeesport, Norwin, Penn-Trafford.

Big East – Altoona, Central Catholic, Fox Chapel, Kiski Area, Penn Hills, Plum, Woodland Hills.

Great Southern – Baldwin, Bethel Park, Canon-McMillan, Mt. Lebanon, Peters Township, Upper St. Clair.


Big Eight – Belle Vernon, Chartiers Valley, Elizabeth Forward, McGuffey, South Park, Thomas Jefferson, Trinity, West Mifflin.

Keystone – Albert Gallatin, Derry, Franklin Regional, Greensburg Salem, Hollidaysburg, Laurel Highlands, Ringgold, Uniontown.

Parkway – Ambridge, Blackhawk, Central Valley, Hopewell, Montour, Moon, New Castle, West Allegheny.

Greater Allegheny – Hampton, Highlands, Indiana, Kittanning, Knoch, Mars, Valley.


Century – Burgettstown, Keystone Oaks, Quaker Valley, Seton-LaSalle, South Allegheny, South Fayette, Steel Valley, Washington.

Allegheny – Apollo-Ridge, Burrell, Deer Lakes, Ford City, Freeport, Shady Side Academy, Summit Academy, West Shamokin.

Midwestern – Aliquippa, Beaver, Beaver Falls, Ellwood City, Freedom, Laurel, Mohawk, New Brighton, Riverside.

Interstate – Brownsville, Charleroi, East Allegheny, Greensburg Central Catholic, Jeannette, Mount Pleasant, Southmoreland, Waynesburg, Yough.


Eastern – Avonworth, Bishop Canevin, Leechburg, North Catholic, Northgate, OLSH, Riverview, Springdale, Wilkinsburg.

Black Hills – Avella, Bentworth, Brentwood, Carlynton, Chartiers-Houston, Clairton, Fort Cherry, Serra.

Big Seven – Cornell, Neshannock, Rochester, Shenango, South Side Beaver, Sto-Rox, Union, Western Beaver.

Tri-County South – Beth-Center, California, Carmichaels, Frazier, Geibel, Jefferson-Morgan, Mapletown, Monessen, West Greene.




Join the conversation:

To report inappropriate comments, abuse and/or repeat offenders, please send an email to and include a link to the article and a copy of the comment. Your report will be reviewed in a timely manner. Thank you.