WGA nominees announced, winners to be named Feb. 1

Written by Barbara Vancheri on .


logo UpperLeftAnd the nominees are in for the 2014 Writers Guild Awards. Winners will be named at a Feb. 1 black-tie event in Los Angeles. 
  1. American Hustle, written by Eric Warren Singer and David O. Russell.
  2. Blue Jasmine, written by Woody Allen.
  3. Dallas Buyers Club, written by Craig Borten and Melisa Wallack.
  4. Her, written by Spike Jonze.
  5. Nebraska, written by Bob Nelson.
  1. August: Osage County, screenplay by Tracy Letts. Based on his play.
  2. Before Midnight, written by Richard Linklater, Julie Delpy and Ethan Hawke. Based on characters created by Richard Linklater and Kim Krizan.
  3. Captain Phillips, screenplay by Billy Ray. Based on the book, “A Captain’s Duty: Somali Pirates, Navy SEALS, and Dangerous Days at Sea” by Richard Phillips with Stephan Talty.
  4. Lone Survivor, written by Peter Berg. Based on the book by Marcus Lutrell with Patrick Robinson.
  5. The Wolf of Wall Street, screenplay by Terence Winter. Based on the book by Jordan Belfort.
  1. Dirty Wars, written by Jeremy Scahill and David Riker.
  2. Herblock – The Black and the White, written by Sara Lukinson and Michael Stevens.
  3. No Place on Earth, written by Janet Tobias and Paul Laikin.
  4. Stories We Tell, written by Sarah Polley.
  5. We Steal Secrets: The Story of Wikileaks, written by Alex Gibney.


Join the conversation:

To report inappropriate comments, abuse and/or repeat offenders, please send an email to and include a link to the article and a copy of the comment. Your report will be reviewed in a timely manner. Thank you.