Mariss Jansons and Concertgebouw to US in Feb.

Written by Andrew Druckenbrod on .

@pghsymphony Former Pittsburgh Symphony music director Mariss Jansons will be back in the U.S. this Feb, touring with his Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra at the Kennedy Center and Carnegie Hall. Here's the details, if you want to check it out:

February 2013 takes the Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra (RCO) across the Atlantic for a rare U.S. tour, with appearances at the Kennedy Center and Carnegie Hall. Led by Chief Conductor Mariss Jansons, the orchestra will present two programs, pairing Mahler with Bartok (Feb 12 & 13) and Bruckner with Strauss (Feb 14) respectively. These milestone events help launch the venerable Dutch orchestra’s extensive 125th-anniversary celebrations: a year-long world tour on an unprecedented scale – 43 concerts in 30 cities across all six inhabited continents – and more than 70 appearances at the orchestra’s Amsterdam home. Music-lovers will also be able to follow the tour remotely, thanks to “RCO Universe,” its exclusive new iPad app.
These U.S. engagements mark one of the many highpoints of the anniversary year, which sees the RCO make African and Australian debuts in the course of its most ambitious tour to date. Even those unable to attend concerts in any of the 43 featured cities will now be able follow the tour from home, with the launch of the orchestra’s new iPad app, “RCO Universe.” With mobile technology and a 360-degree camera, the app offers a virtual concert hall experience. It enables the public to enjoy the RCO concert from anywhere in the world at any time, and also to access additional videos, interviews, and background information.
Details of the Concertgebouw Orchestra’s three February U.S. appearances are provided below, and additional information is available at the web sites listed.
Feb 12; Washington, DC
Kennedy Center (WPAS)
Bartok: Violin Concerto No. 2 (1937-38), with Leonidas Kavakos, violin
Mahler: Symphony No. 1 (1887-88)
Feb 13; New York, NY
Carnegie Hall
Bartok: Violin Concerto No. 2 (1937-38), with Leonidas Kavakos, violin
Mahler: Symphony No. 1 (1887-88)
Feb 14; New York, NY
Carnegie Hall
R. STRAUSS: Tod und Verklärung (1888-89)
BRUCKNER: Symphony No. 7 (1881-83, rev. 1885)


Join the conversation:

To report inappropriate comments, abuse and/or repeat offenders, please send an email to and include a link to the article and a copy of the comment. Your report will be reviewed in a timely manner. Thank you.